top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharles Spungin

Can someone hold my poles?

So today we started our trek. After the excitement of getting here (please see earlier blogs) we arrived at our first hotel at 8 and had. Short rest before getting started at 11. Now I’m normally quite good with instructions but managed to leave without water or taking my lunch with me so that was a good indication of how my day could’ve developed.

Anyway with Ofek - our tour guide/forager/photographer leading the way, we started our adventure. From a small village called Mizpe Hillal (600 people and 240 dogs) we could see the Mediterranean Sea from our first gathering and walked in the opposite direction.


It was a day of walking. Of hiking. Of clambering. We crossed the Khziv River maybe 14 times but whenever we asked Ofek “how many more times are we crossing the river?” “Two”. It was never two more (okay maybe it was at the second to last time) but his ability to answer the question posed, was not always successful.


And I discovered that trekking poles are one of the most underrated requirements for any trek. I can see they might have limited use on a stroll through central London. But once you get into the terrain of the Galilee, poles are essential. Of course they do prevent other activities when both your hands are full but everyone is happy to hold each other’s poles…we’ve bonded quickly as a group!


Anyway, back to today - we got lucky with Ofek. He guided us through the natural surroundings finding wild peas and other edible plants; teaching us about the caterpillars and fish we encountered; freeing a little mouse from the life threatening dilemma we found him in. And also sharing his immense historical knowledge of the ruins of the crusader castle (built in 1228) or the flour mill. Around each corner was another magnificent view of unspoiled land.


Our last couple of hours were an uphill stroll to the village of Maalot where we were able to return to our hotel for the evening. No, we’re not sleeping under the stars or under canvas. I’m out of my comfort zone far enough for now.


Tomorrow another leg of the journey and this time up - and undoubtedly down - Mount Meron. Israel’s second highest mountain.


And for those who love statistics…

18,171 steps

8.1 miles or 13km.

Not enough sleep.

Not enough to eat - but quite possibly that’s my fault for not taking it with me!

But at least I had my poles!


Until tomorrow.



47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Eve

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page