top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharles Spungin

I’m not a Mountain Goat

Today was day four of our trek and you’d think they’d save the best for last.


We were up bright and early and the slight twisted ankle was certainly making its presence known but not sufficiently to cause me to bake out. I was going to do this! I was a seasoned trekker now. How difficult could this last day be? We had trekked already in 90degree heat and that was tough so we all got on the bus to reach the starting point of our final day.


We reached the Amud River nature reserve and headed down towards the river bed, situated at the base of a ravine, surrounded on both sides by 150m of cliffs either side. It was full of lush dense vegetation and another selection of food to learn about from our intrepid foraging tour guide. We saw garlic and carob and pomegranate and barley and wheat. Not nearly enough to eat. And not ripe enough to pick but still it grew amongst our route. And having seen cows on a previous day, the site of a few more wasn’t too alarming though we did catch glimpse of a couple of Hyraxes running across the cliffs. No, I’d never heard of them before either. Don’t worry!

We got to our first stop at a clear water spring which look very inviting - but I resisted, with every intention I would soon be at the Sea of Galilee.


Today was Yom Ha’atzmaut - Israeli day of independence. And we should expect a busy day on the trail. There were a few extra pedestrians but our most exciting encounter was with the Israeli airforce fly past that came directly over us a few times during the trek. I do have to add though, that looking up to the sky at the wrong moment was not something I really wanted to do today!

And so we traversed the ravine. Up and down the cliff sides. 150m up followed by 150m back down and across the river. Then 150m up again. But even this description does not sufficiently explain what we did. 150m down, across and 150m up again is a little tiring in a good day. But then add that this was not normal terrain. This was heavy duty trekking with irregular hard rock formations. The river bed was rounded large pebbles and rocks that wobbled on impact (from everyone I hasten to add, not just me!).


And then there was the added challenge that the “walkable” path was created alongside the cliff edge. As we started our journey the sign from the national parks said it was only suitable for fit walkers. I can only imagine that “fit” has a totally different connotation in Israel than anywhere else in the world…army trained perhaps? Battle weary? Younger? Whatever, I thought it might be a push even on a good day. I’m happy - even proud - to admit, I don’t meet the Israeli definition of “fit” in this context.


It got tougher and tougher. The cliff edge got thinner and thinner (and the thought of me shuffling along the edge of that cliff also led me encounter certain feelings that would have left me considerably thinner too - if you know what I mean!)

And then we encountered the safety measures the National park had installed. Firstly some scaffolding poles that we could hang on to. That seemed sensible - until they stopped. For no reason. Leaving pole free access to a 100m drop. Oh no, the poles are back. Phew! That’s much better now!!


And then the ladder down to the ravine. Not the easiest descent. But as I was soon to discover, nowhere nearly the most difficult. So for the next 4 hours we shuffled from one foot hold to the next. From one side to the other. From the river bed to the top. Over rocks on hands and knees, or down on our backside. Hoping to land on something that wasn’t too worn or slippery.

You’ll not find too many photographs of this stage of the trek. By this stage, I’d put my camera away and was concentrating on my steps.


We were all keeping each other going. Either with words of encouragement, or in my case by bonding with another Trekker who was swearing and moaning at a similar level to me!

There were moments I wasn’t sure I could go on but I did. There was no option not to get through this and I know this all sounds very dramatic, but if you remember the first page, I’ve never done a trek before! And I’m not a mountain goat.


Of course it was a huge sense of relief that I am here to tell the tail and the sense of achievement to finish the trail.


We reached the shore of Lake Galilee just before sunset. A few of us went swimming or even just went our feet to be able to say we had reached the pinnacle of our original objective. None of us appeared to have the ability to walk on water, though we did have the feeling we had performed some miracle today.


Overall, it was an incredibly challenging experience for those of us who had never trekked - and even for some who had trekked before.


We’ve raised some amazing money for some great causes and I am immensely grateful to anyone who has supported the group with that.

Will I trek again? I’m not sure yet. My feet are still hurting but my boots are sufficiently dirty to make it look like I know what I’m doing.

Thank you for reading.

Thank you for your support.




Goodbye.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Eve

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page