top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCharles Spungin

The journey doesn’t end when the plane lands

It’s always exciting when you land in Israel (or anywhere really) to know you’ve reached your destination and the adventure can begin. Today - not so much!


So while the plane landed early, the mission to leave the airport took various twists and turns. The potential advantage of landing at 5am meant it should have been quick and quieter. But over an hour later and we’ve experienced various different desks and pieces of paper for landing cards and then the obligatory Covid test. All I can add is that while the lady in north London “went deep” with her swab, the lady at the airport barely touched the sides.


And so now we jump on a coach and head “up north” to our first hotel, to meet the other Trekkers who have arrived earlier in the weekend, grab a quick breakfast and let the adventure begin.


At 6am, the weather is overcast and I’m starting to regret not bringing enough pairs of jeans. But I’m guessing by the time we start walking it’ll be hot and humid and even the shorts might be a little warm. Or at least hoping that’ll be the way.


So for now, time to catch up on a little more sleep as I think im going to need a bit more energy than I currently have stored.


And a quick shout out to Emily whose birthday I’m currently missing back home. I never thought I’d be celebrating your 20th birthday embarking on a charity trek but I’m celebrating your day from afar - and of course in the cardboard cutout of me that you have to carry with you all day!


Back soon…

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Eve

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page